Home / National / With BJP’s unconditional support, Bihar CM Nitish Kumar wins trust vote

With BJP’s unconditional support, Bihar CM Nitish Kumar wins trust vote

Picture Credit : NDTV.com
Picture Credit : NDTV.com

After dumping the RJD and the Congress and leaving the mahagathbandhan in tatters  in a swift move , Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar won the floor test on Friday by bagging 131 out of 243 votes.

According to various media report, The ruling coalition of the JD(U), BJP and others got 131 votes while the opposition got 108 votes, Speaker Vijay Kumar Chowdhury said.

Nitish Kumar took oath as the Chief Miniter of Bihar for the sixth time on Thursday, in a little over 12 hours of his resignation.

The trust vote was taken through lobby division.

The special session was convened on Friday for the newly formed NDA government to prove majority on the floor of the house.

The NDA had earlier submitted a list of 132 MLAs to the governor. These include 71 of JD(U), BJP 53, RLSP two, LJP two, HAM one and three Independents.

In the 243-member Bihar Assembly, the RJD has 80 MLAs, the Congress 27 and the CPI-ML has three.

Nitish Kumar joined hands with BJP and was sworn in as the chief minister on Thursday. BJP leader Sushil Modi was sworn in as the deputy chief minister, a post he had held before from 2005 to 2013.

Earlier, former Deputy Chief Minister and RJD supremo Lalu Yadav’s son Tejaswi Yadav had hinted that his party will not let the house function smoothly as RJD which is the largest party has not been given a chance to form the government in Bihar.

About Impactnews Desk


Check Also

Rahul Gandhi Slams Modi Government, Tweets Graphs Of Increased Imports From China Under NDA

Former Congress president Rahul Gandhi remains unfazed by RGF donation furore, he once has once …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *