#West Bengal Election By-Poll : Mamata Banerjee To Contest From Bhabanipur On September 30

File Picture

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee, who lost the 2021 assembly election from Nandigram to BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari, will be contesting elections from 159-Bhabanipur, Kolkata.

According to an Election Commission press note, the West Bengal chief secretary has informed that in view of administrative exigencies and public interest and to avoid a vacuum in the state, bye-elections for Bhabanipur, from where CM Mamata Banerjee intends to contest elections, may be conducted.

The EC has announced bypolls to three assembly seats in Bengal and one in Odisha.

The Election Commission said in a statement that it has decided to hold a by-election in Bhabanipur Assembly Constituency of West Bengal. Bypolls will also be held in Samserganj and Jangirpur of West Bengal and Pipli in Odisha on September 30.

Counting will be held on October 3.

Most Popular

To Top