IPL 2021

#VIVOIPL2021 : Kolkata Knight Riders Come Out All Guns Blazing, Thrash Royal Challengers Bangalore By 9 Wickets

Picture : Twitter/ IPL

With their first half hugely disappointing , Kolkata Knight Riders needed a big morale boosting win to pu their campaign in Vivo IPL 2021 on track. And Eoin Morgan led side did exactly that. In a one-sided encounter KKR got everything right on the night and thrashed Royal Challengers Bangalore by 9 wickets to jump to fifth spot and also improve their net run rate.

RCB skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and decided to bat first. But the team looked rusty as they struggled for runs and the misery was complete when the side was bundled out for mere 92 with the final over to spare.

The batsmen’s scores said it all – Virat Kohli (5) opening the batting . Devdutt Padikkal (22) , Srikar Bharat (16). Top guns- Glenn Maxwell (10), A B De Villers (0) looked out of touch. No competitive match since May (IPL 2021). It was forgettable night

But credit to Kolkata bowlers too who bowled well with Morgan making the right bowling changes and his field placements were spot on . KKR bowlers were impressive a nd their figures told it . Mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy was the star with 3/13 (4 overs), Andre Russell was superb 3/9 (3 overs) Kiwi Lockie Ferguson 2/24 ( 4 overs), Prasidh Krishna 1/24 ( 4 overs), Sunil Narine 0/20 ( 4 overs)

Keen to improve their net run rate and get some points , KKR wasted no time in getting the runs quickly. Openers Shubman Gill ( finally found some form after a dismal first half ) 48 and debutant left- hander Venkatesh Iyer a 27 ball unbeaten 41( 7 fours 1, six)  scored at a brisk pace.

The duo put on 81 in 9.1 overs and nearly saw them through when Gill fell for a well made 48 ( 6 fours , 1 six). Iyer hit the winning runs though with Andre Russell remained not out without facing a ball. KKR wrapping up the match in 10 overs. Total reading 94/1.

RCB had a poor night and bowlers struggled . Not their fault with batsmen not getting the runs to bowl at . Kyle Jamieson 0/26( 2 overs), Wanindu Hasaranga 0/20 ( 2 overs) , Out of India WC T20 squad Yuzvendra Chahal was the lone  wicket- taker 1/23 ( 2 overs), Mohammed Siraj 0/12 ( 2 overs)

Most Popular

To Top