IPL 2021

#VIVOIPL2021 : Jonny Bairstow Anchors Sunrisers Hyderabad As They Outclass Listless Punjab Kings By 9 Wickets

Picture : Twitter / IPL

Picture : Twitter / IPL

After three heart breaking losses David Warner skippered Sunrisers Hyderabad finally got back to winning ways by beating a listless Punjab Kings by 9 wickets on hot humid conditions in Chennai.

Punjab Kings skipper K L Rahul won the toss and batted first. And the move backfired as the batting flopped yet again. Rahul was out for 4. Mayank Agarwal ( 22), Universe Boss Chris Gayle was not his usual self ( 15) , Nicholas Pooran ( 0 ), Deepak Hooda ( 13) , Moises Henriques ( 14), Shahrukh Khan ( 22). They were bundelked out for mere 120 in 19.4 overs.

SRH bowlers bolwed to a plan and reaped rewards. Abhishek Sharma 2/24 ( 4 overs), left arm seamer Khaleel Ahmed was impressive 3/21 ( 4 overs), Siddarth Kaul 2/26 ( 3.4 overs), Rashid Khan was brilliant yet again 1/17 ( 4 overs), Bhuvneshwar Kumar 1/16 ( 3 overs)

The big news form the SRH camp came when New Zealand skipper and and legend Kane Williamson finally played his first IPL 2021 match . His presence brought the much needed stability in the middle-order which crumbled in the earlier matches.

On his day Jonny Bairstow is unstoppable. Bairstow continued his terrific form in this match as well. This time guiding the team all the way home . He put on 73 for the first wicket with Skipper David Warner ( 37. Bairstow struck an unbeaten 63 off 56 balls with three fours and three sixes. Along with the ice cool Kane Williamson who too was unbeaten on 16 saw SRH power home by 8 balls to spare . Bairstow – Williamosn put on an unbeaten 48 run partnership off 51 balls. SRH finishing at 121/ 1 in 18. 4 overs. With Jason Roy and Jason Holder in the bench , a win will give SRH the much needed confidence and hopfully will see them perform well in the next games .

Punjab bowlers did not have to defend hence struggled for wickets . Mohammed Shami 0/16 ( 2 overs) he has looked rusty in all matches so far. Fabian Allen 1/22 ( 4 overs), Arshdeep Singh 0/31 ( 3.4 overs), Murugan Ashwin 0/22 ( 4 overs), Deepak Hooda 0/22 ( 4 overs)

To Top