Indian Premier League

#VIVOIPL 2019 Final : Mumbai Indians Clinch Fourth Title With A Thrilling 1 Run Win Over Chennai Super Kings

Picture Credit : BCCI

Picture Credit : BCCI

Mumbai Indians once again kept their nerves and won their record fourth IPl title . In thrilling final at Hyderabad they beat defending champions Chennai Super Kings on the very last ball bowled by Lasith Malinga to win by 1 run. Needing 9 runs off the last over Malinga gave only 8 runs. Malinga got Shardul Thakur leg before in the last ball to clinch the match.

Earlier, electing to bat first after winning the toss, Mumbai Indians began on a aggressive tone with Quinton De Kock and Rohit Sharma firing away to rattle the CSK bowlers. De Kock ( 29) Rohit Sharma ( 15) , SuryaKumar Yadav ( 15), Ishan Kishan ( 23) , Krunal Pandya ( 7), Hardik Pandya ( 16) were the scorers. Towards the end Kieron Pollard hit some lusty blows and remained unbeaten on 41 off 25 balls with three fours and three sixes. This knock made the difference in the end .

For CSK Deepak Chahar was brilliant 3/ 26 ( 4 overs) , Shardul Thakur 2/ 37 ( 4 overs) , Imran Tahir 2/ 23 ( 3 overs)

In reply CSK began with positive intent after a watchful start. Their norm . faf Du Plessis set the momentum with a quick fire 26 off 13 balls with three fours and 1 six. Watson began slowly . Suresh Raina had forgettable outing( first he dropped Hardik Pandya while he was on 4, dropping a simple catch ) and then flopped miserable with the bat. Showing total lack of urgency with the bat and jogging while running between the wickets he was listless and fell for miserable 8 off 14 balls.

Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni too was watchful and took six balls to open his account. He was run-out for 2 off 8 balls. Amabati Rayudu’s poor form continued and he fell for 1. Dwayne Bravo scored 15.

CSK were leaving it too late . Amidst the ruins, Shane Watson opened up his shoulders and scored a blazing 80 off 59 balls with 8 fours and 4 sixes  and his dismissal in the last over with a run-out sealed CSK’s fate and the title was lost.

Mumbai Indians bowlers held their  nerves,  Mitchell McClenaghan 0/ 24 ( 4 overs) , Krunal Pandya 1/ 39 ( 3 overs) , Jasprit Bumrah was outstanding 2/ 14 ( 4 overs) , Rahul Chahar 1/ 14 ( 4 overs) , Lasith Malinga 1/ 49 ( 4 overs) he was expensive but made up for his last over and last ball heroics to emerge a hero.


To Top