Indian Premier League

#VIVOIPL 2019 : Chennai Super Kings Thrash Delhi Capitals By 80 Runs, Dhoni, Tahir Shine

Picture : Twitter / IPL

Picture : Twitter / IPL

Chennai Super Kings just have always found ways to win from precarious positions and this attribute makes them a formidable side. This aspect was seen again during their IPl encounter against Delhi capitals in Chennai .

After a slow start , CSK pressed the accelerator towards the end and powered to a target that Delhi never thought the men in yellow will reach. But when you have Mahendra Singh Dhoni then nothing seems to be impossible.

After CSK lost Shane Watson early, Suresh Raina Raina (59) and Faf du Plessis (39) added 83 runs for the second wicket to revive the innings after Delhi Capitals’s bowlers produced tight spells upfront.

Later, skipper Dhoni living up  to his tag as best finisher , hit an unbeaten 44 off 22 balls, inclusive of four fours and three sixes, while Jadeja smashed a quick cameo 25 off 10, which was studded with two sixes. Trent Boult’s last over went for 20 runs. MSD doing the damage. CSK reached 179/ 4 in 20 overs . The late order surge stunned the Delhi Capitals.

For Delhi capitals the best bowling side in the competition it was tough day with Kagiso Rabada and Ishant Sharma rested. And it showed in the figures . Trent Boult 0/ 37 ( 4 overs) , Jagadeesha Suchith 2/ 28 ( 4 overs) , Chris Morris 1/ 37 ( 4 overs) , Axar Patel 1/ 31 ( 4 overs)

Delhi Capitals batting which was solid till now collapsed like pack of cards against the CSK spinners. Barring skipper Shreyas Iyer ( 44) and Shikhar Dhawan ( 19) none of the batsmen reached double figures. Delhi crashed to a dismal 99 all out in 16. 2 overs. Rishabh Pant ( 5) , Prithvi Shaw ( 4), Colin Ingram ( 1) . Mahendra Singh Dhoni was razor sharp behind the stumps and astute with his captaincy. ‘Captain Cool’ was at his inspirational best and Delhi Capitals had simply no answer.

CSK spinners Imran Tahir (4/12) and Ravindra Jadeja (3/9) ripped through the Capitals middle order, sharing seven wickets between them . Harbhajan Singh 1/ 28 ( 4 overs), Deepak Chahar 1/ 32 ( 3 overs) were the other wicket- takers in complete all- round show by CSK.

Most Popular

To Top