Indian Premier League

Vivo IPL 2019 : Defending Champions Chennai Super Kings Bank On ‘Captain Cool’ MSD To Retain Title

Picture : Twitter / ChennaiIPL

Picture : Twitter / ChennaiIPL

Any team captained by legendary Mahendra Singh Dhoni is dangerous. This has been proved over the years umpteenth times be it team India or the Chennai Super Kings in the  IPL . And under MSD the team has gone the distance and is always seen as title contender . They have  won IPL thrice –  2010, 2011, 2018. It was banned for two years in 2016 and 2017 but came back with vengeance to wrest the title in 2018.

The team is fine balance and last year despite been said to be the oldest in the competition it showed the value of experience to clinch the title . It would not be surprise at all if the team goes on to successfully defend the title.

CSK team for 2019 : M.S. Dhoni (captain and wicket-keeper), Imran Tahir, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sam Billings, David Willey, Murali Vijay, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Narayan Jagadeesan, Suresh Raina, K.M. Asif, Shardul Thakur, Dhruv Shorey, Mohit Sharma, Faf du Plessis, Monu Kumar, Dwayne Bravo, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Karn Sharma, Lungi Ngidi, Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Mitchell Santner


What a line- up when gives the CSK a glance!  Skippered  by Captain cool Mahendra Singh Dhoni , the team has all- round fire power from Shane Watson ( superb last year) Dwayne Bravo . And then the batting has likes of Suresh Raina,  Faf Du Plessis , Sam Billings  Murali Vijay,  Ambati Rayudu,  David Willey, Ravindra Jadeja .

The seam has Deepak Chahar ( bowled  well last year)  South African Lungi Ngidi ( will miss  this year with side strain injury), Mohit Sharma, Shane Watson, Shardul Thakur  . Experience in spin with Imran Tahir, Harbhajan Singh ( probably his last IPL), Mitchell Santner .

Defending champions will  no doubt be  the team to beat.


To Top