Trinamool Congress Makes It Official, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee To Contest From Bhabanipur In The By-Poll

Picture : Twitter / ANI

The Trinamool Congress has officially announced that party supremo and Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee as its candidate for the by-election in Bhabanipur.

TMC’s campaign in the seat in south Kolkata is already underway with the Election Commission announcing the by-poll on Saturday, following a request from the state government to avoid a constitutional crisis.

Banerjee, who lost the election in Nandigram, has to win this by-poll to retain her chief minister’s post.

The Bharatiya Janata Party, Congress, and Communist Party of India (Marxist)-led Left Front are yet to announce their candidates for the by-poll.

The by-poll will be held on September 30 along with the elections to two seats in the Murshidabad district — Samserganj and Jangipur where polling could not be held during the eight-phase assembly elections earlier this year.

The counting of votes will take place on October 3.

To Top