Tata IPL 2022

#TATAIPL2022 : Qualifier 2 : Jos Buttler’s 4th Season Ton, McCoy, Krishna Power Rajasthan Royals To Final With 7 Wicket Win Over Royal Challengers Bangalore

Picture : Twitter / IPL

In the knock out match as to who would face the Gujarat Titans in The Tata IPL 2022 final On May 29, It was the Rajasthan Royals who powered their way to the final. The Royals put on a commanding show to win by 7 wickets and shatter RCB hopes yet again.

Royals skipper Sanju Samson won the toss and fielded first . And in the big match his bowlers stood tall to restrict the RCB batting line- up. RCB were joled early with Virat Kohli out for mere ( 7). Skipper Faf du Plessis too did not fire out for ( 25) . Rajat Patidar who hit a stunning hundred in the last match against Lucknow Super Giants continued his fine form and scored a 42 ball 58 ( 4 fours, 3 sixes). Glenn Maxwell threatened to score big but was deceived by a Trent Boult for ( 24). Mahipal Lomror ( 8) and Dinesh Karthik a rare failure ( 6) and some lusty hits by Shahbaz Ahmed not out 12 saw RCB reach a below par 157/ 8 in their 20 overs. They were clearly 15- 20 runs short. RR bowlers led by Boult , Krishna and McCoy were superb in keeping the RCB batsmen tight .

For the Royals the bowling figures were : Trent Boult 1/ 28 ( 4 overs), Prasidh Krishna over came the LSG match horror with 3/22 ( 4 overs), Obed McCoy 3/ 23 ( 4 overs) , Ravichandran Ashwin 1/ 31 ( 4 overs), Yuzvendra Chahal 1/ 45 ( 4 overs)

Chasing 159, Royals were off to a flier with openers Yashasvi Jaiswal 13 ball 21 and with imperious Jos Buttler on the other hand the Royals in the power play overs raced to 61/1 in 5. 1 overs. It rattled RCB . Jos Buttler on the way hit his fourth ton of the season and crossed over 800 plus runs . Dropped on 66 by Dinesh Karthik of Harshal Patel , Buttler made RCB pay as he hit the winning runs with a monstrous six and finishing unbeaten on 106( 10 fours, 6 sixes) off mere 60 balls. It was yet another masterclass. Skipper Sanju Samson scored 23 , Devdutt Padikkal 9 it dod not matter so long as Buttler was there at the other end. Shimron Hetmyer not out 2 along with Buttler saw the Royals home with plaenty to spare . Royals reaching 161/ 3 in 18.1 overs and winning by thumping seven wickets.

For the Royals it is their first final since the inaugural tournament in 2008 which they had won under the then Aussie leg spin wizard Shane Warne. Posters of the late Shane Warne – forever the first Royal caption was visible in the stands and the Royals took one more to step to pay a perfect tribute to the Aussie legend .

For RCB Josh Hazlewood has been impressive right through the season and this time too he impressed with 2/ 23 ( 4 overs), Mohammed Siraj 0/ 31 (2 overs) struggled to get his line right. Glenn Maxwell 0/ 17 ( 3 overs) , Shahbaz Ahmed 0/ 35 ( 2 overs), Harshal Patel 0/ 29 ( 3.1 overs), Wanindu Hasaranga 1/ 26 ( 4 overs)

Most Popular

To Top