Sunil Chhetri wins Hero of the League Award

The individual awards of the Hero I-League 2016-17 are, finally, confirmed following the votes cast by coaches and captains of the respective ten team.

Debjit Majumder (MB), with 8 clean sheets, wins the Best goalkeeper award of this season.

Anas Edathodika (MB), who recently made his international debut also, edges others to win the ‘Jarnail Singh Best Defender’ of Hero I-League 2016-17 award.

Alfred Kemah Jaryan (AFC), the lynchpin of Aizawl FC’s midfield, is adjudged as the Best Midfielder of Hero I-League 2016-17.

There was very little competition for the Best Striker award as Aser Pierrick Dipanda Dicka (LAJ) grabs the award, thanks to his tally of 11 goals in 18 matches.

‘Best Emerging Player of Hero I-League’ award was inducted by the AIFF this season to encourage the youngsters and Jerry Lalrinzuala (DSK) grabs the award this season.

Khalid Jamil, who guides Aizawl FC to their historic I-League victory, is bestowed with the ‘Syed Abdul Rahim Best Coach Award’.

The most coveted award of Hero I-League 2016-17, ‘Hero of the League’ goes to Bengaluru FC skipper Sunil Chhetri, who scored 7 goals in Hero I-League 2016-17.

Meanwhile, Churchill Brothers FC Goa, who made a comeback to the fray after a hiatus, win the ‘Fairplay Award’ of Hero I-League 2016-17.

DSK Shivajians FC & Bengaluru FC share the ‘Best Organiser Award’ this season on the basis of points awarded by the respective AIFF Match Commissioners. (AIFF)

To Top