Setback For Maharashtra Government , Supreme Court Quashes One Year Suspension Of 12 BJP MLA’s, Terms It Unconstitutional

In a set- back to the Maharashtra government, the Supreme Court has quashed the one-year suspension from the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly of 12 BJP MLAs while terming it unconstitutional and arbitrary. MLAs were suspended for one year for allegedly misbehaving with the presiding officer.

They were suspended on July 5 last year from the assembly after the state government accused them of “misbehaving” with presiding officer Bhaskar Jadhav in the Speaker’s chamber.

The MLAs who were suspended include – Dr Sanjay Kute, Ashish Shelar, Abhimanyu Pawar, Girish Mahajan, Atul Bhatkhalkar, Harish Pimple, Jaikumar Rawal, Yogesh Sagar, Narayan Kuche, Bunty Bhangdiya, Parag Alvani and Ram Satpute, will be barred from entering the legislative premises for the next 12 months.

Former BJP CM Devendra Fadnavis Tweeted, Since the beginning, we were saying that it was completely unconstitutional & gross misuse of power to suspend our MLAs for such a long period to create artificial majority & that too for no valid reason & the Hon SC has upheld our stand.

Most Popular

To Top