Record : England’s Eoin Morgan Has Most Wins As Captain In History Of T20I

File Picture

England’s ODI and T20 skipper Eoin Morgan broke the record for most wins by a captain in T20I history. Morgan surpassed the legendary India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Afghanistan’s Asghar Afghan in registering the most number of wins by a captain in men’s T20 Internationals during his team’s win against Sri Lanka at the ongoing World Cup in UAE.

England defeated Sri Lanka by 26 runs at the Sharjah International Cricket Stadium to virtually seal a semifinal spot at the T20 World Cup.

Morgan now has 43 wins from 68 T20I matches he led England, while Dhoni — who retired last year – won 42 matches out of 72 he played as India skipper. Afghan, who retired from all formats on Sunday after the match against Namibia, had captained Afghanistan to 42 wins out of 52 games.

In 2019, Morgan had become the first England skipper in history to win the ICC 50 over World Cup . He led the team to victory in the dramatic and sensational final win over New Zealand.

Most Popular

To Top