Tata IPL 2023

#Qualifier1 : Chennai Super Kings Reach Their Record 10th Final; Beat Defending Champions Gujarat Titans By 15 Runs

Picture : BCCI

Chennai Super Kings led by the astute Mahendra Singh Dhoni outclassed Defending Champions Gujarat Titans by 15 runs on hot humid conditions in Chennai to reach their record 10th IPL final.

Gujarat Titans Skipper Hardik Pandya won the stoss and decided to bowl first . CSK openers began on a positive not – Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway put on 87 for the first wicket in 10.3 overs. A tad bit slow on the surface where shot- making was not easy . Plus hot and humid conditions. Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 60 ( 44 balls, 7 fours, 1 six) and Conway unlike his previous quick innings struggled with his timing to score 40 off 34 balls with four fours. Shivam Dube ( 1). Ajinkya Rahane ( 17) bit of a let down given his good form earlier . Ambati Rayudu ( 17) , Ravindra Jadeja ( 22) ensured CSK reached a fighting 172/ 7 in their 20 overs. With slow wicket and spinners in their line-up CSK had the advantage to defend the total .

GT bowling figures read : Mohammed Shami 2/28 (4 overs), Darshan Nalkande 1/44 (4 overs) , Rashid Khan 1/ 37 ( 4 overs) , Noor Ahmad 1/ 29 ( 4 overs) , Mohit Sharma 2/ 31 ( 4 overs)

In reply, GT began shakily as they lost in-form opener Wriddhiman Saha for 12 . Deepak Chahar once again taking a wicket in power play . Skipper Hardik Pandya fell into the trap laid by MSD and holed out for 8 . Dasun Shanaka ) 17), David Miller ( 4) , Vijay Shankar ( 14), Rahul Tewatia ( 3) meants GT innings were in tatters. In- form Shubman Gill was their lone hope but he too fell to Deepak Chahar for 42 . Rashid Khan scored an entertaining 16 ball 30 with three fours and two sixes but he ran out of partners. CSK spinners – Ravindra Jadeja and Maheesh Theekshana had a vice- like grip and never allowed them to get away. GT in the end were all out for 157 off thr last ball of the 20th over. CSK winning by 15 runs to seal a place in the final.

With spot on filed placing and wily bowling changes MSD showed why he is the Skipper with the midas touch . CSK bowlers responded well . Deepak Chahar outstanding yet at the top and in power play with figures of 2/ 29 ( 4 overs), Tushar Deshpande 1/ 43 ( 4 overs) , the spin duo were superb – Maheesh Theekshana 2/28 ( 4 overs), Ravindra Jadeja 2/18 ( 4 overs) . In- fact Moeen Ali did not even bowl. Seamer Matheesha Pathirana took 2/ 37 ( 4 overs)

GT now play the winners of the eliminator between Mumbai Indians and Lucknow Super Giants to have have another crack at CSK in the final.

CSK Impact Player: Matheesha Pathirana replaces Shivam Dube
GT Impact Player: Vijay Shankar replaces Mohit Sharma

Match: IPL 2023, Qualifier 1
Venue: Chennai | Date: May 23, 2023

Most Popular

To Top