Home / Books / Penguin Set To Release The Definitive Book On The Year 1971 By Anam Zakaria

Penguin Set To Release The Definitive Book On The Year 1971 By Anam Zakaria

The year 1971 exists everywhere in Bangladesh-on its roads, in sculptures, in its museums and oral history projects, in its curriculum, in people’s homes and their stories, and in political discourse. It marks the birth of the nation, it’s liberation. More than 1000 miles away, in Pakistan too, 1971 marks a watershed moment, its memories sitting uncomfortably in public imagination. It is remembered as the ‘Fall of Dacca’, the dismemberment of Pakistan or the third Indo-Pak war. In India, 1971 represents something else-the story of humanitarian intervention, of triumph and valour that paved the way for India’s rise as a military power, the beginning of its journey to becoming a regional superpower.

Navigating the widely varied terrain that is 1971 across Pakistan, Bangladesh and India, Anam Zakaria sifts through three distinct state narratives, and studies the institutionalization of the memory of the year and its events. Through a personal journey, she juxtaposes state narratives with people’s history on the ground, bringing forth the nuanced experiences of those who lived through the war. Using intergenerational interviews, textbook analyses, visits to schools and travels to museums and sites commemorating 1971, Zakaria explores the ways in which 1971 is remembered and forgotten across countries, generations and communities.

About the author

Anam Zakaria is an oral historian and the author of Between the Great Divide: A Journey into Pakistan-Administered Kashmir and The Footprints of Partition: Narratives of Four Generations of Pakistanis and Indians, which won her the 2017 KLF German Peace Prize. She works as a development professional and cultural facilitator, and writes frequently on issues of conflict and peace in South Asia. Her work has appeared in Dawn, Wire, Scroll and Al Jazeera. Born and raised in Lahore, Anam currently lives in Toronto. 1971 is her third book.

About Impactnews Desk

Check Also

Kaizen : The Japanese Methods Of Transforming Habits, One Small Step At A Time By Sarah Harvey

Perfect for fans of Ikigai and Marie Kondo, Kaizen is the step-by-step Japanese way to …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *