New Era : Rohit Sharma Named Captain For The T20I Series Against New Zealand, Virat, Bumrah, Jadeja, Shami Rested, Hardik Dropped

The BCCI, has announced the 16-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against New Zealand. Mumbai Indians skipper and ODI and T20 vice- captain 34- year-old Rohit Sharma has been named the new T20I captain of India. His opening partner 29-year-old KL Rahul has been named deputy.

Virat Kohli, who relinquished his T20I captaincy, has been rested for the three-match series. Other players rested include – Mohammad Shami , Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja.

Hardik Pandya whose fitness and performance has been under the radar has been dropped.

Making their way into the side are IPL performers – Rituraj Gaekwad while Venkatesh Iyer who impressed all with his showing for KKR earns his maiden India call. Ruturaj already played for India in the Sri Lanka series.

PL 2021 purple cap winner Harshal Patel also received the call-up for his impressive show in the cash-rich league.

Amongst the pacers, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal, Mohammed Siraj, got the places in the squad.

Shreyas Iyer, who was amongst the reserve in the T20 WC squad earns his place. Spinner Yuzvendra Chahal is also back in the side

The Men in Blue are set to play 3 T20Is starting from 17th November 2021, which will also mark the start of Rahul Dravid’s era in Indian cricket as head coach.

India’s T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj.


To Top