Modi 2.0 Cabinet Portfolios : Scindia Civil Aviation, Bhupender Yadav Environment, Anurag Thakur I&B, Rijiju Law Minister

After Prime Minister Narendra Modi did a major rejig of the Union cabinet. The portfolios of the new ministers were announced soon after. Former Congress leader and who helped BJP form BJP government in Madhya Pradesh , Jyotiraditya Scindia was rewarded with a plum Civil Aviation Ministry .

Manuskh Mandavia was made the new Health Minister and bureaucrat-turned-politician Ashwini Vaishnaw the new Railway Minister.

BJP organizational heavy weight Bhupender Yadav is the new Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change and the Minister of Labour and Employment; and G Kishan Reddy will be the Minister of Culture; Tourism; and Development of North Eastern Region.

The DoNER Ministry was earlier held by Jitendra Singh as Independent charge. The ministry has now got a Cabinet rank minister.

Home Minister Amit Shah has got the charge of the newly-created Ministry of Cooperation, a Rashtrapati Bhavan communique said. He will have B L Verma as his deputy in the new ministry.

Anurag Singh Thakur, who was earlier MoS Finance, has been elevated to the Cabinet rank and allocated the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting as well as the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.

Rajnath Singh has retained the Defence Ministry and Nirmala Sitharaman the Finance after the reshuffle. Nitin Gadkari will continue to be the Minister of Road Transport and Highways and Subrahmanyam Jaishankar the External Affairs Minister.

Cabinet Minister Mandavia, who has a daunting task of handling the COVID-19 pandemic, has also been given the Chemicals and Fertilizers Ministry, whereas Vaishnaw will also be the Minister of Communications, Electronics and Information Technology.

Piyush Goyal will be the new Textiles Minister, alongside being the Minister of Commerce and Industry; and the Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution.

The Education Ministry will be headed by Dharmendra Pradhan who will also hold the charge of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.

Janata Dal-United’s Ram Chandra Prasad Singh will be the Steel Minister, while Pashupati Kumar Paras has been made the Minister of Food Processing Industries and Kiren Rijiju the Minister of Law and Justice.

Hardeep Singh Puri will be the Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas and Housing and Urban Affairs Minister, Narayan Tatu Rane will be the Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises while Sarbananda Sonowal has been made the Minister of Ports, Shipping and Waterways; and the Minister of AYUSH.

Shripad Yesso Naik, who was the Minister of State (Independent charge) for AYUSH will now be the Minister of State in the Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways; and the Minister of State in the Ministry of Tourism.

There will now be three Ministers of State for Home Affairs — Nityanand Rai, Ajay Kumar and Nisith Pramanik.

Smriti Zubin Irani has retained the Women and Child Development Ministry while Narendra Singh Tomar continues to be the Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare.

Pralhad Joshi will be the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs; Minister of Coal; and Minister of Mines.

Union Minister Jitendra Singh will be the Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Science and Technology and MoS (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Earth Sciences.

Most Popular

To Top