Maharashtra, Haryana To Vote On October 21, Results On October 24, Announces Election Commission

Picture : Twitter / ANI

Picture : Twitter / ANI

Election Commission Chief Sunil Arora while briefing the media announced the schedule for Haryana and Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019. Both the states will vote on October 21 and will have a single phase polling. The results would be declared  three days later on October 24.

The 288-member Maharashtra assembly’s term ends on November 9 while the 90-member Haryana assembly’s term comes to an end on November 2.

The Model Code of Conduct will come into force after the announcement of dates. The Election Commission of India assured all stakeholders of the quality of electronic voting machines during assembly elections in both Maharashtra and Haryana.

Sunil Arora announced that each candidate can spend up to Rs 28 lakh on poll expenditure.

“The upper limit for expenditure on the election campaign is Rs 28 lakh for each candidate,” Arora said.

The EC appealed to party candidates in both Haryana and Maharshtra to use environmental-friendly material while campaigning for polls.

EC further announced  that the By-elections to 64 constituencies across Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Assam, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, MP, Meghalaya, Odisha, Puducherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana &Uttar Pradesh, to be held on Oct 21 ;counting on Oct 24

To Top