Home / Football / Luka Modric Pips Cristiano Ronaldo, Mo Salah To Win FIFA Best Men’s Player Of The Year Crown

Luka Modric Pips Cristiano Ronaldo, Mo Salah To Win FIFA Best Men’s Player Of The Year Crown

Picture Courtesy : Twitter
Picture Courtesy : Twitter

The skipper of this year’s surprise FIFA World Cup 2018 finalist Croatia , the 33- year -old Luka Modric has beaten Portuguese striker Cristiano Ronaldo and Egypt forward Mohamed Salah to be crowned as the Best FIFA Men’s Player of the year.

The award is fitting reward for his splendid form this year for his country and club. He lead his country to the 2018 FIFA World Cup final in Russia 2018 losing eventually to France. Before  that won his fourth Champions Trophy title with his Spanish Club Real Madrid in May.

Modrić is widely regarded as one of the best midfielders of his generation, and among the greatest Croatian footballers of all-time. He is known for his vision, precision in execution, and tactical strategy.

Modric  had won the Golden Ball at the World Cup and was also named UEFA Men’s Player of the Year last month.

The Croatian footballer  in the process dethroned his former Real Madrid teammate Ronaldo, who had won the award twice before. Liverpool star Salah was rewarded with the Puskas Award for best goal of the past year for his strike against Everton in a Premier League match at Anfield.

1998 World  Cup  winning French  skipper and coach of the side that won the 2018 World Cup Didier Deschamps, was crowned Men’s Coach of the Year.

Belgian goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois won FIFA Goalkeeper of the Year for his performance at the World Cup.

Meanwhile, Brazil’s Marta was named as the Best FIFA Women’s Player at the FIFA Best Awards in London.

About Impactnews Desk

Check Also

From 2017 To 2020, Kashmina Aims To Come Full Circle In The Hero IWL

After seeing three different winners in three seasons, the Hero Indian Women’s League is on …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *