General Elections 2019

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 : Congress Gets Patna Sahib, As Mahagathbandhan Finalises Seat Sharing In Bihar

Picture : Twitter / ANI

Picture : Twitter / ANI

With just days before the first phase of the Lok Sabha polls that begins on April 11, the Mahagathbandhan have finally arrived at seat sharing arrangement in Bihar. Will the delay affect their chances ? remains to be seen. Bihar will vote in all the seven phases and has 40 Lok Sabha seats.

According to media reports in the arrangement that had been sealed after hectic consultations – The RJD will contest 19 seats, Congress 9 and Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) of Upendra Kushwaha – who quit the BJP-led alliance in December – will contest five.  RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav at  a press conference announced the deal and insisted that all is well in the alliance.

Congress gets from the RJD Patna Sahib, a constituency represented by actor turned politician Shatrughan Sinha. Sinha is set to join the Congress on April 6 . And is now widely expected to take on law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad from the said seat . Thus making it an interesting contest.

Sharad Yadav will contest from Madhepura. Congress has fielded former Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar from Bihar’s Sasaram constituency. Ironically the seat she lost in 2014 LOk Sabha polls. Can she regain it ?

To Top