Home / National / #KarnatakaByelection : BJP Powers To Victory, Congress Concedes Defeat

#KarnatakaByelection : BJP Powers To Victory, Congress Concedes Defeat

Picture : Twitter / ANI
Picture : Twitter / ANI

It is a big victory for the BJP in the Karnataka bypolls. And a shot in the arm for Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa’s four -month old BJP government .

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) requires a minimum of 6 seats in the 224-member Karnataka Assembly for a simple majority with 112 as the halfway mark, as it already has 104 members, excluding the Speaker and the support of an Independent

The counting of votes for the by-elections on 15 assembly seats in Karnataka that went to polls on December 5 began to day morning.

Karnataka Congress leader DK Shivakumar has conceded defeat as counting in the bypolls shows the BJP set to win. “We have to agree with the mandate of the voters of these 15 constituencies. People have accepted the defectors. We have accepted defeat, I don’t think we have to be disheartened.”

According to media reports, the Congress party was heading for defeat in nine out of its 12 seats, with the BJP making huge gains. The BJP was leading in 12 out of 15 seats.

Bypolls were held in 15 out of 17 assembly seats left vacant by MLAs who resigned in July, causing the collapse of the Congress-Janata Dal Secular coalition and the BJP’s takeover.

About Impactnews Desk

Check Also

Srinagar Placed Under Curfew , Ahead Of One Year Of Article 370 Abrogation

A curfew was imposed across the valley  as authorities apprehended violent protests in view of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.