Home / Cricket / #INDvsWI 3rd ODI : India Chase Stiff Target To Win Series , Rohit, Rahul , Virat Shine

#INDvsWI 3rd ODI : India Chase Stiff Target To Win Series , Rohit, Rahul , Virat Shine

Picture : Twitter / BCCI
Picture : Twitter / BCCI

India have clinched the three match ODI series against West Indies 2-1. They won the third ODI at Cuttack Odisha by 4 wickets in a high- scoring thriller at Barabati stadium.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to field first . And the West Indies posted a very challenging 315 / 5 in their 50 overs. All the batsmen chipped in with their contributions – Evin Lewis (21), Shai Hope (42), Roston Chase (38) , Shimron Hetmyer (37), Nicholas Pooran was the top- scorer with an entertaining ( 89) with ten fours and three sixes. Skipper Kieron Pollard was blazing with 51 ball 74 studded with three fours and seven sixes.

For India , the bowlers had to toil hard for wickets and their figures said it all. Shardul Thakur 1/ 66 (10 overs) , Mohammed Shami 1/ 66 (10 overs), Navdeep Saini 2/58 (10 overs), Kuldeep Yadav 0/ 67 (10 overs), Ravindra Jadeja 1/ 54 (10 overs)

India in reply began positively with the openers putting Rohit Sharma ( 63) and K L Rahul (77) putting on a fine 122 run for the first wicket. Skipper Virat Kohli after two rare failures bounced back to score a fine 81 ball 85. But after he fell there were a hiccup as Shreyas Iyer ( 7), Rishabh Pant ( 7) and Kedar Jadhav (9) fell quickly to rattle India.

But Ravindra Jadeja played a crucial cameo . A 31 ball unbeaten ( 39) and supported By Shardul Thakur unbeaten on a valuable 17 off 6 balls. India powered home by 4 wickets. India finishing at 316/ 6 in 48. 4 overs. Thus clinching the series 2-1. And finishing the year 2019 on a high.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli was the Man Of the Match , while Rohit Sharma bagged the Man of the Series awards respectively.

For the West Indies, the loss was disheartening as they competed well in the series. They challenged India to play their best to win. The West Indies bowlers had these figures : Sheldon Cottrell 1/74 (10 overs) , Jason Holder 1/ 63 (10 0vers), Keemo Paul was the most successful with 3/59 ( 9.4 overs), Alzarri Joseph 1/ 53(8 overs), Roston Chase 0/ 19 ( 4 overs), Khary Pierre 0/ 46 (7 0vers).

About Impactnews Desk


Check Also

ICC Recognises United Nations World Refugee Day

The International Cricket Council (ICC) recognises United Nations World Refugee Day by releasing a video …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *