In Charge : Roger Binny Elected Unopposed As BCCI president ; Jay Shah Remains Secretary ; Arun Dhumal New IPL Chairman

File Picture

A member of the victorious 1983 Prudential World Cup winning team , 67- year-old former India Player Roger Binny has succeeded Sourav Ganguly as the 36th BCCI president.

The decision was taken at the Annual General Meeting of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in Mumbai.

Interestingly all posts were won unopposed by the candidates . Jay Shah will remain the Secretary. The other appointments include – Ashish Shelar (Treasurer), Rajeev Shukla (vice-president) and Devajit Saikia (join secretary). Outgoing treasurer Arun Dhumal will be the new IPL chairman who replaces Brijesh Patel. Arun Dhumal is the brother of Union Sports and I&B Minister Anurag Thakur.

He (Roger Binny) is a nice man. I have played a lot of cricket with him and we have fond memories. No discussions took place on the ICC chairman post today, the board will decide later said , Mohammad Azharuddin , former India skipper told ANI .

Speaking to media Outgoing BCCI President Sourav Ganguly was quoted by ANI saying : I wish Roger (Binny) all the best. The new group will take this forward. BCCI is in great hands. Indian cricket is strong so I wish them all the luck.

Most Popular

To Top