Hockey India Names 18-Member Indian Men’s Hockey Team For 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019

Hockey India have named the 18-member Indian Men’s Hockey Team who will take part in the 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019 to begin in Ipoh, Malaysia on 23 March 2019. The prestigious annual tournament will see hosts Malaysia, Canada, Korea, South Africa, India and 18th Asian Games Champions Japan in the fray.

The Indian team features experienced goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and youngster Krishan B Pathak in the goal-post while the defence will see Vice Captain Surender Kumar joined by Gurinder Singh, Birendra Lakra, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam along with dragflickers Varun Kumar and Amit Rohidas.

In the midfield Skipper Manpreet Singh will lead the charge alongside young guns Vivek Sagar Prasad, Hardik Singh, Sumit and Nilakanta Sharma. The forwardline will see Mandeep Singh, Simranjeet Singh, Gurjant Singh, Shilanand Lakra and Sumit Kumar.

The Indian team who begin their campaign against Japan on 23 March 2019 will miss the services of experienced forwards SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Lalit Upadhyay, and defenders Rupinder Pal Singh, Harmanpreet Singh as well as midfielder Chinglensana Singh who were unavailable for selection due to injury. Junior players Vishal Antil and Pardeep Singh too were not available for selection of the Indian team for the 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019 owing to injury. These players will continue to undergo rehabilitation at the Sports Authority of India, Bengaluru.

“It is unfortunate we will be missing some key players for 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019 due to injury. However, it is important for them to return to 100 per cent fitness ahead of the FIH Series Final, Bhubaneswar Odisha 2019 which is a crucial tournament in our quest for 2020 Olympic berth and hence will continue to remain in Bengaluru and work on their rehabilitation,” stated David John, Director High Performance, Hockey India.

Speaking about the Indian team for 28th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019, John said, “It is a relatively young side but each of these players have tremendous potential and have a good amount of International exposure. It is important to see how they fair in Malaysia as it will show the depth we possess in the Core Group ahead of the Olympic Qualification events this year.”

The Indian Team will leave for Ipoh, Malaysia from Kempegowda International Airport, Bengaluru on 18 March 2019.

Indian Men’s Hockey Team:


1. Krishan B Pathak

2. P R Sreejesh


3. Gurinder Singh

4. Surender Kumar (Vice Captain)

5. Varun Kumar

6. Birendra Lakra

7. Amit Rohidas

8. Kothajit Singh Khadangbam


9. Hardik Singh

10. Nilakanta Sharma

11. Sumit

12. Vivek Sagar Prasad

13. Manpreet Singh (Captain)


14. Mandeep Singh

15. Simranjeet Singh

16. Gurjant Singh

17. Shilanand Lakra

18. Sumit Kumar

Please find attached tournament schedule, photo of the Indian Team as well action pictures of Manpreet Singh, Surender Kumar, SV Sunil, Harmanpreet Singh, Ramandeep Singh.

Most Popular

To Top