Following the Udaipur Resolution of One Leader One Post, Mallikarjun Kharge Resigns As Leader Of Opposition In Rajya Sabha

Picture : Twitter/ ANI

A day after filing his nomination for the election for the party presidential post, Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge on Saturday resigned as the Leader of Opposition (LoP) in Rajya Sabha.

A leader with more than 50 years of experience in politics, Kharge, who was elected MLA for nine times in a row and has been pitched as a Dalit leader by his party colleagues, has seen a steady rise in his career graph from humble beginnings as a union leader in his home district of Gulbarga, now Kalaburgi.

In 1969, he joined the Indian National Congress and went on to become president of the Gulbarga City Congress Committee. Following the Udaipur Resolution of One Leader One Post, Kharge sent his resignation to Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi.

P Chidambaram and Digvijay Singh are in the race to succeed Kharge as the LoP.

On Friday, Mallikarjun Kharge, Shashi Tharoor and KN Tripathi filed their nominations for the Congress presidential polls.

Most Popular

To Top