Flamboyant Rishabh Pant Makes It Big, Gets Grade A BCCI Contract

File Picture

File Picture

Indian cricket team skipper and superstar Virat Kohli, his deputy Rohit Sharma and  seamer Jasprit Bumrah are the only cricketers from the Indian team to have bagged the Grade A+ contract in the latest central contract list as announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) .

The big surprise is the elevation of flamboyant wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant. Seen a potential successor to the great Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Pant has has been handed a Grade A contract after a brilliant outing in Test cricket in 2018.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shikhar Dhawan have been demoted to Grade A.

Cheteswar Pujara continues to remain in A category despite having a phenomenal 2018. MS Dhoni, Ajinkya Rahane, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav also remain in Grade A category.

Whereas, Hardik Pandya and KL Rahul stay in the B category, and have been joined by Umesh Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal in the list.

The A+ category players are paid a yearly fee of Rs 7 crore, while A category players get Rs 5 crore. Whereas Grade B and C category players are given a fee of Rs 3 crore and Rs 1 crore respectively.

The likes of Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha and Khaleel Ahmed have been awarded Grade C contract. Whereas Murali Vijay, who was dropped from the Test side following some poor outings with the bat, misses out on a contract for the 2018-19 season.

In Women’s cricket, Mithali Raj, Smriti Mandhana, Poonam Yadav and Harmanpreet Kaur have been awarded Grade A contract by the BCCI. The likes of Jhulan Goswami, Deepti Sharma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Shikha Pandey and Ekta Bisht have been named in the Grade B list.

Grade A players will bag Rs 50 lakhs as yearly retainer fee while Grade B players are paid Rs 30 lakhs in Women’s cricket.

Men’s cricket:

Grade A+ (Rs 7 Cr): Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah

Grade A (Rs 5 Cr): R Ashwin, Ra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni, Shikhar Dhawan, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav, Rishabh Pant

Grade B (Rs 3 Cr): KL Rahul, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya

Grade C (Rs 1 Cr): Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Hanuma Vihari, Khaleel Ahmed, Wriddhiman Saha

Women’s cricket:

Grade A (Rs 50 Lakhs): Mithali Raj, Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Poonam yadav

Grade B (Rs 30 Lakhs): Ekta Bisht, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Deepti Sharma, Jemimah Rodrigues

Grade C (Rs 10 Lakhs): Radha Yadav, D Hemalatha, Anuja Patil, Veda Krishnamurthy, Mansi Joshi, Punam Raut, Mona Meshram, Arundhati Reddy, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Taniya Bhatia, Pooja Vastrakar

To Top