#Delhi Assembly Polls 2020 : Congress Releases First List Of 54 Candidates

After the ruling AAP, BJP , it was the turn of the Congress party to release its first list of 54 candidates for the February 8 Delhi Assembly elections.

The list included 10 women and a number of ministers of the Sheila Dikshit government. Of the 54 nominees, 33 will make their debut in the polls. Four muslim candidates also figured in the list.

Former Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Alka Lamba, who switched over to the Congress, has been fielded from Chandni Chowk constituency, while election campaign committee chairman Kirti Azad’s wife, Poonam Azad, will contest from Sangam Vihar.

Former Union minister Krishna Tirath, who has been fielded from the Patel Nagar Assembly constituency, was a Cabinet colleague of former chief minister Sheila Dikshit. Apart from Tirath, four former ministers — Ashok Kumar Walia, Narendar Nath, Arvinder Singh Lovely and Haroon Yusuf — have been nominated as well.

Walia has been fielded from Krishna Nagar and Nath from Shahdara. Lovely, who had also been the party’s Delhi unit president and contested the Lok Sabha polls last year, has been fielded from Gandhi Nagar while Yusuf has been nominated for Ballimaran seat.

The Delhi Congress’ working presidents Rajesh Lilothia and Devender Yadav got tickets from Mangolpuri and Badli constituencies, respectively.

Most Popular

To Top