Bollywood Fraternity Descends In full Force For 2019 Power Brands Bollywood Film Journalist’s Awards

The glittering 2019 Power Brands-Bollywood Film Journalist’s Awards were organised by Planman Motion Pictures  at the Novotel Mumbai. Padmaavat took home 16 roaring lions. BadhaiHo took away 7 roaring lions including the Best Film. Andhadhun and Tummbad won 6 roaring lions each and Sriram Raghavan won the Best Director award for Andhadhun.


The glittering event saw two mega book launches!! The big one was the launch of the young 18 year old author Che Kabir Chaudhuri’s book DISCOVER THE SUPERHERO IN YOU published by Times Group Books. The book which is about life lessons from superhero films and comics, was launched by  former Miss Universe Sushmita Sen who also got the special Power Brand Superhero Award. Launching the book she was in full praise of the book saying such insight and depth is absolutely amazing!! Che said that he believed that there was a lot to learn in life from comics and Superhero films and he wanted to prove that.

The other book that was launched by the Rock Star who has taken YouTube by storm- Guru Randhawa. This coffee table book- Bollywood Power Brands – also published by Times Group Books is authored by Rajita Chaudhuri and Dr. Arindam Chaudhuri and is on the most powerful in Bollywood. They called it their tribute to the movers and shakers of Bollywood.

Sanjay Khan was there in full force with his family- Zarine, Suzanne, Farah, Zayed and Simone. So was the lifetime award winner, Manoj Kumar, who spoke with full gusto and said being in a wheel chair he is hardly a power brand anymore.
Sanjay Khan emphasized on the need for national integration and communal harmony.

Malaika Arora also got the special Power Brand Fashion Icon award. From Neena Gupta, Pankaj Tripathi, Shriram Raghavan, Gajaraj Rao, Ronit Roy to Shefali Shah, Neeraj Kavi, NushratBharucha, Farah Khan, Ali Fazal, Amit Trivedi and Amit Sharma all the winners praised the fairness of the awards and the thanked the journalists who voted for them. Sushmita, Malaika, Nushrat and ManjariFadnis dazzled the red carpet.

Power Brands Bollywood Film Journalists Awards are the only awards in the country:

> Where more than twenty of the leading film journalists of this country do an open ballot voting for all categories and disclose who they voted for online two weeks before the award ceremony.
> Where awards are given irrespective of the winners presence as they are declared a fortnight in advance at least.
> Where the runners up are also awarded with the title of associate winners
> There are no nominations and journalists are free to give any one their vote amongst the films released last year.

Basically it’s the only credible awards in the country and for the same it has garnered huge appreciation, though still only in its 3rd year.

The list of key winners this year are:

Best Feature Film
Winner – BadhaaiHo – Junglee Pictures/ Vineet Jain
Associate Winner – Andhadhun – Viacom18 Motion Pictures

Best Director
Winner – Andhadhun – Sriram Raghavan
Associate Winner – Raazi – Meghna Gulzar

Best Actor Male
Winner – Sanju – Ranbir Kapoor
Associate Winner – Padmaavat – Ranveer Singh

Best Actor Female
Winner – Raazi – Alia Bhatt
Associate Winner – Padmaavat – Deepika Padukone
Associate Winner – Hichki – Rani Mukerji

Best Supporting Actor Male
Winner – Sanju – Vicky Kaushal
Associate Winner – BadhaaiHo – Gajraj Rao
Associate Winner – Stree – Pankaj Tripathi

Best Supporting Actor Female
Winner – BadhaaiHo – Neena Gupta
Associate Winner – BadhaaiHo – Surekha Sikri

Winner – Andhadhun – Amit Trivedi
Associate Winner – Padmaavat – Sanjay Leela Bhansali

Best Background Score
Winner – Tumbbad – Ajay-Atul / Jesper Kyd
Associate Winner – Padmaavat – Ankit Balhara, SanchitBalhara, Sanjay Leela Bhansali

Best Cinematography
Winner – Padmaavat – Sudeep Chatterjee
Associate Winner – Tumbbad – Pankaj Kumar

Best Story Adapted
Winner – Raazi – Bhavani Iyer, Meghna Gulzar
Associate Winner – Simmba – YunusSajawal, Sajid Samji, Vakkantham Vamsi
Associate Winner – Parmanu: The Story of Pokhran – SaiwynQuadras, Sanyuktha Chawla Sheikh, Abhishek Sharma

Best Story Original
Winner – BadhaaiHo – Shanatanu Srivastava, Akshat Ghildial, Jyoti Kapoor
Associate Winner – Andhadhun – Sriram Raghavan, Arijit Biswas, Pooja LadhaSurti, Yogesh Chandekar, Hemanth Rao

Most Popular

To Top