Blow To Goa Congress : Eight MLA’s Switch Sides, Join BJP Including Former Chief Minister Digambar Kamat ; Party In Tatters

Picture : Twitter/ ANI

In a big blow to the Congress party in Goa . Eight Congress MLAs including former Chief Minister Digambar Kamat, Michael Lobo, Delilah Lobo, Rajesh Phaldesai, Kedar Naik, Sankalp Amonkar, Aleixo Sequeira & Rudolf Fernandes joined BJP in presence of CM Pramod Sawant.

Congress in Goa has now only three MLA’s.  The Congress leaders before the polls in Goa remember vowed never to switch sides . But that promise seems to be forgotten very quickly .

Later speaking to media and reported by PTI , former Congress MLA from Goa, Michael Lobo after joining the BJP stated : “All top Congress leaders who strengthened the party will leave it in the coming days because of too much of differences among themselves. We’re representing the people; we will have to hear their voices. The people told us to leave and we are leaving.”

“People of Goa have told us that ‘Bharat Jodo yatra’ is not going to be a success because of big infighting amongst the topmost leaders of the Congress party,” Lobo added.

In a similar move in July 2019, 10 Congress MLAs had switched over to the BJP.

I welcome the 8 MLAs who have joined BJP today… Congress started the ‘Bharat Jodo Yatra’, but I think ‘Congress Chhodo Yatra’ started in Goa. People from across the country are leaving Congress and joining BJP, Goa CM Pramod Sawant was quoted as saying by ANI

Most Popular

To Top