BJP president Amit Shah and Smriti Irani become Rajya Sabha MP’s

Picture Credit : – Manorama Online

BJP chief Amit Shah and Union minister Smriti Irani on Friday took oath as Rajya Sabha members. Rajya Sabha chairman M Venkaiah Naidu administered the oath to Shah and Irani in his chamber, PTI reported.

Shah is making his debut in Parliament. Both were elected to the upper house from Gujarat earlier this month.

They were accompanied by parliamentary affairs minister Ananth Kumar, finance and Defence minister Arun Jaitley and law minister Ravi Shankar Prasad among others.

ANI reported that Irani took oath in Sanskrit. Both Shah and Irani were elected to the Upper House from Gujarat earlier this month. While the two were elected smoothly, the fight for the third Rajya Sabha seat saw some high-voltage drama beginning with Congress herding its MLAs to a Karnataka resort out of fear of poaching.

The voting had ended with the Election Commission declaring a Congress legislator’s vote invalid and paving the way for the win of Congress nominee Ahmed Patel.

To Top