#Battle For Bihar 2020 : 71 Assembly Seats Up For Grabs In First Phase Voting

More than two crore voters in Bihar will decide the fate of 1,066 candidates on October 28  across 71 assembly segments in the first phase of elections. The second phase is on November 3, third on 7th November and the results would be out on 10th November.

Guidelines have been issued by the Election Commission for safe conduct of the electoral exercise, which takes place in the midst of the raging COVID-19 pandemic, reported PTI.

These include lowering the cap on the maximum number of voters for a polling booth from 1,600 to 1,000, staggering of polling hours and postal ballot facility for those aged above 80, or those afflicted with or suspected to be carrying the contagion.

Besides, sanitisation of electronic voting machines, wearing of masks and other protective gear by polling personnel and availability of thermal scanner, hand sanitiser, soap and water will be ensured.

Of the 2.14 crore voters who will exercise their franchise, 1.01 crore are women and 599 belong to the third gender, according to data provided by the Election Commission.

The candidates include 952 men and 114 women, the maximum number (27) being in the fray at Gaya Town and the minimum (5) at Katoria in Banka district.

Among the major political parties, chief minister Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal-United is contesting in 35 of the 71 seats, followed by its ally Bharatiya Janata Party (29), while the opposition Rashtriya Janata Dal has fielded its candidates in 42 and its coalition partner Congress is in the fray in 20 assembly segments.

Lok Janshakti Party, headed by Chirag Paswan, is in the fray in 41 seats, which include all the 35 contested by the JD-U, in keeping with the call given by the young party president, who recently pulled out of the National Democratic Allaince in the state, to “dislodge” the chief minister from power.

Most Popular

To Top