AusvsInd3rdT20I : Matthew Wade, Glenn Maxwell Shine As Australia Beat India By 12 Runs Virat’s Heroics In Vain

Australia avoided the T20 series whitewash as they beat India by 12 runs in the final T20 match at Sydney. Both teams thus shared the shorter formats of the game by identical win margins. Australia won the ODI series 2-1 and now India won the T20I series 2-1.

In the final encounter, Indian skipper Virat Kohli after successful chase last time decided to field first after winning the toss. Aaron Finch who missed the previous match returned as skipper. All- rounder Marcus Stoinis was left out.

Australia lost skipper Aaron Finch early for 0. But Matthew Wade who captained last time and has been sensational form blasted yet another aggressive innings. This time a fine 80 off just 52 balls with 7 fours and two sixes. It was stunning innings . Wade made for the poor form of Steve Smith , who found runs hard to come by and struggled with his timing. Smith scored 24 ball 23. His inability to get going cost Australia runs while setting up a total. In the last match Smith scored 36 off 48 balls. Fortunately after been dropped many a time, Glenn Maxwell played a power packed innings ( 54 off 36 balls with three fours and three sixes) and along with Wade helped Australia reach 186 / 5 they had scored 194 in the previous match. Glenn McGrath , while commenting said Australia fell twenty runs short due to Steve Smith’s struggle in the middle overs. Given India’s batting and a certain Hardik Pandya this total too seemed achievable more so with the inexperienced Australian bowling .

For India, the find of the series T Natarajan once again was impressive with 1/33 ( 4 overs), Washington Sundar 2/34 (4 overs) Shardul Thakur was expensive 1/43 (4 overs), Yuzvendra Chahal 0/41 ( 4 overs), Deepak Chahar 0/34 ( 4 overs)

India in reply unlike last time did not get a good start. Vice-captain K L Rahul was out for 0 in the very first over. Shikhar Dhawan and skipper Virat Kohli put India back with a 74 run stand when Dhawan fell fro 28. Kohli on the other hand was in sublime form. Sanju Samson , once again messed up the opportunity. The player who has been spoken so much for his talent just has not been able to get going after a start. Thus squandering opportunity to cement his place in the side. Samson was out for 10. Shreyas Iyer too has found runs hard to come by. He was out for 0. Hoping for an encore Hardik Pandya hit some big sixes to threaten Australia yet again. But time Aussie bowlers bowled the right length and he scored 20 off 13. Despite wickets falling around him, Virat kohli stood tall and stroked a entertaining 85 off 61 balls with four fours and three sixes. India struggled towards the end as Ravindra Jadeja’s absence was felt in the team’s lower order. Shardul Thakur( 17) hit some lusty blows but the Aussie total was just too much. India fell 12 run short finishing at 174/ 7 in twenty overs.

Australia with an inexperienced bowling line-up managed to defend the total this time. Mitchell Swepson was outstanding 3/23( 4 overs) Adam Zampa 1/21 (3 overs), Andrew Tye 1/31 ( 4 overs), Glenn Maxwell 1/20 (3 overs), Sean Abbott 1/49 ( 4 overs), Daniel Sams 0/29 ( 2 overs)

Series: India won the series 2-1

Man of the match: Mitchell Swepson

Man of the Series: Hardik Pandya

To Top