AIFF president : Former Star Striker And India Skipper Bhaichung Bhutia Files Nomination For The Top Job

File Picture

Legendary striker and former India football skipper Bhaichung Bhutia has filed his nomination for the president’s post in the upcoming All India Football Federation (AIFF) elections even as former player Kalyan Chaubey has emerged as the front runner in the race for the top job.

Former captain Bhutia’s name was proposed by his one-time national team-mate Deepak Mondal and seconded by Madhu Kumari. Kumari is part of the electoral college as an ’eminent’ player.

“I have filed my nominations as representative of eminent players. In the wake of the SC decision to allow players I hope the players can have a chance to serve Indian football. We want to show we can be good not only as players but also as administrators,” Bhutia told PTI.

Football Delhi president Shaji Prabhakaran has also filed the nomination papers for president’s post.

Also filing the nominations are former player Eugeneson Lyngdoh, through the Meghalaya football association, and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s brother Ajit Banerjee. Lyngdoh is currently serving as an MLA in the Meghalaya legislative assembly.

Chaubey, a former India goalkeeper, who has played for both Mohun Bagan and East Bengal, like his illustrious contemporary Bhutia, appeared to be ahead in the race for the top job. Chaubey is a member of the ruling BJP but what could work in his favour is that his name has been proposed by the Gujarat FA and seconded by the Arunachal Pradesh football association.

Hours before the FIFA ban on AIFF earlier this week the Committee of Administrators (CoA) running football in India had agreed to hold the sports body’s elections without giving voting rights to ’eminent’ players as per the world body’s wish.

The Supreme Court had said that the electoral college for the executive committee of the AIFF would have representatives from 36 state associations and 36 representatives of eminent football players, 24 male and 12 female.

The players should have played at least one international match representing India and retired from international tournaments two years prior to the date of notification of the elections.


Most Popular

To Top