Home / National / After A Stunning Win, Y S Jaganmohan Reddy Is Sworn As New Chief Minister Of Andhra Pradesh

After A Stunning Win, Y S Jaganmohan Reddy Is Sworn As New Chief Minister Of Andhra Pradesh

Picture : Twitter / ANI
Picture : Twitter / ANI

Y S Jaganmohan Reddy, who led his Yuvajana Shramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP)  to a stunning  victory in the assembly elections, was sworn in as chief minister of Andhra Pradesh.

The YSR Congress party decimated the TDP headed by N Chandrababu Naidu, who became the first chief minister of the state after it was bifurcated to carve out Telangana five years ago.

Governor E S L Narasimhan administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 46-year-old leader, whose party emerged victorious in 151 seats in the 175-member strong state assembly.

The YSRC also won 22 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in the state in the recently concluded polls.

Reddy took the oath in Telugu at 12.23 pm amid thunderous cheers by scores of party leaders and workers in a brief ceremony at the IGMC Stadium in Vijayawada.   Reddy’s council of ministers is expected to be sworn in on June 7.

Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao, DMK chief M K Stalin and Puducherry Health Minister Malladi Krishna Rao  were the special guests.  Telangana Deputy Chief Minister Mahmood Ali, Assembly
Speaker Pocharam Srinivasa Reddy, minister Talasani Srinivasa Yadav also attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Reddy’s mother and YSRC honorary president Y S Vijayamma, his wife Bharati and sister Sharmila and other members of the family were specially seated on the dais.

About Impactnews Desk

Check Also

Civil Aviation Minister, Hardeep Singh Puri Visits Kozhikode Crash Site, To Oversee Relief Measures

Civil Aviation Minister Hardeep Singh Puri reached Kozhikode Airport to take stock of the situation …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.