4thT20#INDvsNZ : India Clinch Yet Another Super Over Thriller Against Listless Kiwis

Picture : BCCI / Twitter

Picture : BCCI / Twitter

New Zealand’s nightmare with super over continues. They lost yet another thriller to India at Wellington. The win gave India a 4-0 lead in the five match T20 series and a whitewash given the poor Kiwis showing so far now looks a real possibility.

New Zealand’s stand in skipper in place of injured Kane Williamson, Tim Southee won the toss and asked India to bat first. India struggled to put 165/ 8 in their 20 overs. India rested Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami in the match. K L Rahul (39), Manish Pandey (50) were the scorers . Sanju Samson ( 8) wasted yet another opportunity. Skipper Virat Kohli fell for ( 11) , Shreyas Iyer ( 1) and Shivam Dube ( 12) . Shardul Thakur played a quick cameo of 20 runs

For the Kiwis, Tim Southee 1/28 (4 overs), Scott Kuggeleijn 1/ 39 ( 4 overs), Mitchell Santner 1/ 26 ( 4 overs), Hamish Bennett 2/41 ( 4 overs), Ish Sodhi 3/ 26 ( 4 overs).

In reply, The kiwis lost Martin Guptill early ( 4). But Colin Munro ( 67) and Tim Seifert ( 57) put them back in race. The moment the duo fell. There was panic. Ross Taylor ( 24) were the main scorers , the rest crumbled under pressure and they finished at 165/ 7 in their 20 overs. With match tied it was set for another super over to decide the outcome.

For India , Shardul Thakur 2/ 33 ( 4 overs) , Jasprit Bumrah 1/ 20 ( 4 overs), Yuzvendra Chahal 1/38( 4 overs) were the wicket- takers .

Needing 14 to win the match after Tim Seifert (8) and Colin Munro (5) gave New Zealand a total of 13-1, KL Rahul hit the first ball from Tim Southee for six and the next for four before he was caught by Scott Kuggeleijn at deep midwicket.

Virat Kohli then bunted two runs down the ground and hit Southee for four to take India to 16-1 and a 4-0 lead in the series.

To Top