3rdT20 : Rohit Sharma, K L Rahul, Virat Kohli Come To The Party, India Wins Series 2-1

Picture : Twitter / BCCI

Picture : Twitter / BCCI

Indian batting firepower came to the fore in the third T20 series decider at Wankhede , Mumbai. The men in blue put up a fine show with the bat and then their bowlers defended the big total to help India win the three match- T20 series 2-1 . India won the final match by 67 runs.

West Indies skipper Kieron Pollard won the toss and asked India to bat first. And India did not look back. Their batsmen ensured that they put up a daunting total. Rohit Sharma ( 71) 34 balls, six fours and five sixes was in his elements in front of the home crowd. He was supported well by K L Rahul ( 91) off mere 56 balls, studded with 9 fours and four sixes. The duo put on a superb 135 opening stand. Rishabh Pant fell for no score. Shreyas Iyer remained unbeaten without opening his account.

After Rohit and Rahul, skipper Virat kohli took centre stage and produced blistering innings . An unbeaten 71 off mere 29 balls . Kohli was at his rampaging best , smoking as many as four fours and seven sixes. It was his blitz that saw India finish at 240 -3 in their 20 overs.

West Indian bowlers were taken to the cleaners. And their figures said it all. Sheldon Cottrell 1/ 40 ( 4 overs) , Jason Holder 0/ 54 ( 4 overs) , Khary Pierre 0/ 35 ( 2 overs) , Kesrick Williams 1/ 37 ( 4 overs) , Hayden Walsh 0/ 38 ( 4 overs), skipper Kieron Pollard too rolled his arms over for figures of 1/ 33 ( 2 overs)

In reply to the huge Indian target the West Indies floundered from the start and could manage a total of 173 – 8 in their 20 overs. Last match’s hero Lendl Simmons fell early for ( 7) , Brandon King ( 5), Shimron Hetmyer showed promise in an entertaining 41 off 24 balls. But could not carry on. Nicholas Pooran ( 0), Skipper Kieron Pollard tried his best with his lusty hitting . Scoring a power packed 68 off 39 balls. It contained five fours and six sixes. The rest could not fire as the target was simply too stiff. India won by 67 runs.

For India, Deepak Chahar 2/20 ( 4 overs), Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2/ 41 (4 overs), Mohammed Shami 2/ 25 ( 4 overs) , Shivam Dube 0/32 (3 overs), Kuldeep Yadav 2/ 45 (4 overs) were the wicket- takers.

Skipper Virat Kohli was named the Man of the Series.

To Top