Home / National / 2007 Hyderabad Twins Blasts Verdict : Two Of The Five Accused Convicted

2007 Hyderabad Twins Blasts Verdict : Two Of The Five Accused Convicted

File Picture
File Picture

A local court in Hyderabad has convicted two people and acquitted  two others in the twin bomb blasts in Hyderabad in 2007 at Gokul Chat and Lumbini Park that killed 44 people and left 68 injured.

Aneeq Shafeeq Sayeed and Ismail Chaudhary have been convicted. Judgement on one more accused to be pronounced on Monday. All five accused are lodged in Charlapalli Jail and two people are absconding.

The quantum of punishment will be announced on Monday.

On August 27, Second Additional Metropolitan Sessions Judge T Srinivas Rao postponed the judgment in the case to September 4.

The Counter Intelligence wing of the Telangana Police had investigated the case and arrested five accused, all alleged Indian Mujahideen operatives.

The agency had filed four charge sheets against the five accused and also named two other absconding accused, Riyaz Bhatkal and Iqbal Bhatkal.

Those arrested — Mohammed Akbar Ismail Chowdhari, Aneeq Shafique Sayeed, Farooq Sharfuddin Tarkash, Mohammed Sadiq Israr Ahmed Shaik and Tarik Anjum — were produced before the court on August 27 through video conferencing from Cherlapalli Central Prison, where they are currently lodged.

The trial against five accused in the case was shifted to a court hall located on the premises of Cherlapalli Central Prison from a court located in Nampally Court complex in June this year.

According to the prosecution, Aneeq Shafique Sayeed allegedly planted the bomb at Lumbini Park while Riyaz Bhatkal planted the bomb at Gokul Chat while the unexploded bomb was planted by Ismail Chowdhari.

About Impactnews Desk

Check Also

File Picture

Putting An End To The Region’s Special Status Will Help Integrate Kashmiris With Rest Of The Country – Mohan Bhagwat

Mohan Bhagwat, RSS Chief,  has said the fear of losing land and jobs among people …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *