Tuesday , May 21 2019
Home / National / Historic Win : In A First, BJP’s Biplab Deb Takes Over As Chief Minister of Tripura

Historic Win : In A First, BJP’s Biplab Deb Takes Over As Chief Minister of Tripura

File Picture Courtesy : Indian Express
File Picture Courtesy : Indian Express

The BJP after a stunning electoral victory in the recently concluded assembly polls in Tripura 2018 has now in a first formed a government in the state. Biplab Deb took oath as the chief minister of Tripura, making him the 20th chief minister under the banner of National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in the state capital Agartala.

Forty-eight-year-old Deb staked claim to Governor Tathagata Roy on 6 March to form the government in the state. The victorious BJP won 35 seats, along its alliance partner Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) which got eight seats, giving the NDA a 43-seat majority in the 60-member assembly.

It thus ended the 25 year rule of the Left front government in the state led by Manik Sarkar. Former CM of Tripura Manik Sarkar, Senior BJP leaders LK Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi Home Minister Rajnath Singh were present in the swearing in ceremony.

Deb takes over at a time when the state is in the news for all the wrong reasons too. BJP’s historic win paved the way for wild celebrations. Amid chants of Bharat Mata ki Jai  the  statue  of Communist Leader Vladimir Lenin was vandalised and demolished . The incident sparked off in  Tripura  has led to statues of other leaders been  vandalised in other states like Tamil Nadu , Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.

About Impactnews Desk

Check Also

File Picture

#India Elections 2019 : Exit Polls Say It Is Advantage NDA, Modi Wave Intact, All Eyes On May 23

The much awaited exit polls results have come out on May 19. And many of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *